Newton Tony Primary School (CE VC)

'Love One Another As I Have Loved You' (John 15:12)

*** KS1 School Production this week ***

Our Governing Body

Chair of Governors: Anthony Brinkworth

Head Teacher: Sheena Priestley

Staff: Joanna Hillier

Parent: Marcus Mann

Foundation: Rev. Peter Ostli-East

Co-opted: Steven Warburton

Clerk of Governors: Cara Gregory

The school’s Instrument of Government, which has been in place since May 2015, sets out that a full governing body should consist of ten members as follows:

  • 2 staff governors
  • 3 parent governors
  • 1 local authority governor
  • 2 co-opted governors
  • 2 foundation governors
Quoram for a Full Governing Body (FGB) is 50% of the membership, rounded up and excluding vacancies, so with six governors, quorum is currently three members. If the governing body had no vacancies, an FGB quorum would be five members in attendance. 


Join Our Team

Click on the links below if you would like to join our governing body team or nominate someone:

Invitation to join our governing body

Nomination Form and Eligibility

Governance Handbook

Knowing your school

At Newton Tony Primary CE VC School we recognise that our primary responsibility is to safeguard and promote the welfare of the children, and that everyone who comes into contact with children has a role to play in that. As part of our safeguarding policy and in line with our PREVENT Duty, we promote tolerance and respect for all cultures, faiths and lifestyles, and expect our visitors to share this commitment. Safeguarding is an important part of our everyday life. Please be vigilant and share any concerns if you think a child is at risk of harm either at school, within a family setting or in the wider community.

We consider Safeguarding everyone’s responsibility. To support this we use ‘CPOMS’ to share information within our staffing team and when transferring information to other schools. 

Designated roles within the school: 

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Miss Priestley

Nominated Safeguarding Governor: Mr Brinkworth

Attendance Lead: Miss Priestley 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mrs Hillier

Fire Marshalls: Miss Priestley, Mrs Leatham and Mrs Sweeney

Looked After Children designated teacher: Mrs Hillier

Senior Mental Health Lead: Mrs Hillier

Emotional Learning Support Assistant: Mrs Sullivan

Visiting the school

Please contact the school office prior to your visit to schedule your visit.  You will be asked to show your DBS certificate if you will be accessing the school unaccompanied.  Please be prepared to show your ID and register your visit when you enter the school building.  You will also be asked to wear an identification badge on an orange lanyard if you access the school grounds. On arrival, our Safeguarding and Fire procedures will be explained to you.  Please read our Safeguarding Information and related policies that are the school website, we can also provide a hard copy on request.




Safeguarding and Child Protection Leaflet

Allegations and concerns flowchart – Sept 2022

FGM Factsheet


School Fire Safety Training

NSPCC advice on sexual violence and harassment